Inline FabricationReloading EverythingTitan ReloadingWideners
RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyLee Precision
Repackbox Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pre-`64 action restoration?

Boolit Master

Pre-`64 action restoration?

My dad gave me one of his custom rifles as he is getting too old to maintain all of them and I took it apart tonight and discovered a fair amount of rust. I scrubbed it clean as best I could with a brass bristle brush and CLP and installed the action in a composite stock he also gave me for it.

This is a rifle I will keep until I die, then gift to a grandson. I'd like to have the action restored and either re-blued or coated in a tougher finish.

I have no experience in this or idea what the cost is or who to have do it. Would like some suggestions.

After scrubbing...

Attachment 254311

Attachment 254312

Attachment 254313
    "Luck don't live out here. Wolves don't kill the unlucky deer; they kill the weak ones..." Jeremy Renner in Wind River

Boolit Master

This is the worst part of it...

Attachment 254314
    "Luck don't live out here. Wolves don't kill the unlucky deer; they kill the weak ones..." Jeremy Renner in Wind River

Boolit Master

I did browse the Turnbull website, and they do the level of work I like, but at $2000, I can buy a complete pre-`64 action already restored and finished.

Boolit Grand Master

Personally I would leave it as is, however, for a coating Cerakote covers rust damage very well.

https://www.cerakote.com/
    Last edited by M-Tecs; 01-06-2020 at 01:13 AM.
    2nd Amendment of the U.S. Constitution. - "A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."

"Before you argue with someone, ask yourself, is that person even mentally mature enough to grasp the concept of different perspectives? Because if not, there’s absolutely no point."
    – Amber Veal