RotoMetals2RepackboxTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
WidenersADvertise hereLee Precision

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Getting surviellence signal to TV

  1. #1
    Boolit Master


    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Lenore, WV
    Posts
    2,308

    Getting surviellence signal to TV

    I jusr installed a wired DVR home surviellence system . I have the system hooked to my modem via a cat 5 cord. I would like to view the system on my smart TVs. Is there a way to transmit the signal to a smart TV? I could not find a way to download the surviellence app to the TV?

  2. #2
    Boolit Buddy


    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Princeton, PA
    Posts
    197
    Depends on the system. Most will require some sort of software interface. IP cameras can usually be seen in just a webpage. Google is your friend here. Also contacting the support number or email for the system can be helpful.

    Since it has an ethernet connection theres a chance there is software and apps available for your computer and phone.

    If you cant find an app for the tv that interfaces you can do like I did and use the VGA PC input and hook it to the camera DVR as a monitor.

    Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
    Dignified? I signed up for brave and courageous, not dignified!

  3. #3
    Boolit Master Handloader109's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    NW Arkansas
    Posts
    1,504
    Depends on how smart. I don't think my Roku will allow for anything. Some others use Amazon or google and might.
    Let me know, I'm wanting to do similar. There are good apps for smartphones, but don't know any for 'smart' tv

  4. #4
    Boolit Buddy


    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Princeton, PA
    Posts
    197
    Quote Originally Posted by Handloader109 View Post
    Depends on how smart. I don't think my Roku will allow for anything. Some others use Amazon or google and might.
    Let me know, I'm wanting to do similar. There are good apps for smartphones, but don't know any for 'smart' tv
    Depending on your system, there are apps available for Roku. There arent many but there are some.

    Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
    Dignified? I signed up for brave and courageous, not dignified!

  5. #5
    Boolit Grand Master popper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    8,617
    You would have to redirect it through the cable modem to the IP of the TV, open with browser on smart TV. TV may not let you download an App that is not approved by the maker or the cable company.
    Whatever!

  6. #6
    Boolit Master


    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,239
    How far apart are they? I just set my brother's up using an HDMI cable to his TV so I could use it as a display.

    Mine uses an old computer monitor as a screen, but I can also use a laptop/phone/tablet to view it from anywhere.
    ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

  7. #7
    Boolit Master

    LUCKYDAWG13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Northern Illinois
    Posts
    3,153
    we were having some break ins by us I went out and put some ring motion floodlight camera and a doorbell camera
    these are well worth it
    kids that hunt and fish dont mug old ladies

  8. #8
    Moderator Emeritus

    MaryB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    SW Minnesota
    Posts
    8,557
    HDMI cable from computer to TV, TV will show as a monitor once you enable multi monitor support... I have 2 24" monitors on my desk and the 55" TV 7 feet from me is the third monitor. Use it for watching videos...

  9. #9
    Boolit Buddy jessdigs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    The people's republic of Commifornia, in Somerset
    Posts
    156
    If it's a new system, it should have HDMI. Get a long cable, plug it in

    Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Boolit Grand Master popper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    8,617
    Who made it, model, etc. Power over internet(100T coax?)? Most I've seen are a complete package so you use their DVR/interface.
    Whatever!

  11. #11
    Boolit Grand Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    5,483
    Quote Originally Posted by jessdigs View Post
    If it's a new system, it should have HDMI. Get a long cable, plug it in

    Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
    Be careful when trying to go long distances with HDMI. There are special cables that will allow you to go distances up to a max distance.

    Something like the Celerity fiber optic HDMI cable might be needed if the distance is more than about 20ft. You can have pretty decent signal up to about 20ft with non-amplified standard cables. If the distance is greater I would recommend the fiber optic cables. I've used them up to 100 feet on high def with no signal loss.
    Last edited by 6bg6ga; 12-31-2019 at 11:28 AM.

  12. #12
    Boolit Grand Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    5,483
    Quote Originally Posted by wv109323 View Post
    I jusr installed a wired DVR home surviellence system . I have the system hooked to my modem via a cat 5 cord. I would like to view the system on my smart TVs. Is there a way to transmit the signal to a smart TV? I could not find a way to download the surviellence app to the TV?
    What is the output on the DVR? Does it have a HDMI? Need some info here to help you.

  13. #13
    Boolit Master


    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Lenore, WV
    Posts
    2,308
    The DVR has a cat 5 for the modem,a HDMI, A USB port, and a VGA. I have an old computer monitor hooked to the VGA, the cat 5 to my modem and a mouse in the USB port. I would like to wirelessly transmit the signal to my tv. Could a firestick be used in some way?

  14. #14
    Boolit Grand Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Casa Grande, AZ
    Posts
    5,483
    https://www.parts-express.com/5-ghz-...CABEgLCcvD_BwE

    Something like this would probably work. Looks to take any HDMI signal in. Transmitter and receiver setup.

  15. #15
    Boolit Master



    WebMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    missouri ozarks
    Posts
    572
    As stated above, your DVR manufacturer determines how you can access your DVR over the network.

    My DVR has an app for android and iOS.
    It has plugins for internet explorer.
    Finally, it also has instant update jpeg for all other web browsers.

    So, for me, there is no way to use my smart TV as all the apps for it come from the TV maker.

    Now my kodi box can access the DVR and I can view on my TV.

    But saying all that, the 30' HDMI cable works better.

    Good luck!
    WebMonkey
    Retired 19D
    Psalm 91:9
    Honda 919

  16. #16
    Boolit Master Ole Joe Clarke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    765
    I used a HDMI cable from the camera computer to the TV. Then I just use the remote to select input, and select the HDMI cable from the camera computer. Simple and works.

    Happy New Year!

    Have a blessed day,

    Leon

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check