Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading Everything
Load Data Wideners
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ar ??

Boolit Master

Ar ??

I realize the AR15 isn't a military weapon per se.

I'm relatively new to them. I got one question:

Is theat charging handle/bar supposed to cycle with the bolt? Sometimes?

I've had 3 different charging handles on this thing and it still comes back and gets my attention.
    "What makes you think I care" ........High Plains Drifter

Rick C.

Boolit Buddy
    Not in my experience

Boolit Master

Nope. Charging handle is supposed to stay locked in Place. The bolt should slide back and forth without unlocking the charging handle. Something is out of fitment.

Boolit Buddy
    Does your charging handle lock forward when you draw the bolt to the rear and release it? If not there is something wrong. You are not riding the charging handle forward when you close the bolt are you? If you are not releasing the charging handle when you retract the bolt you will need to push it forward to lock it into the upper. The only reason the charging handle would cycle is if the lock is broken, the spring that activates the lock is broken or missing, or you are not locking it forward when you slowly close the bolt.

Bill

On heavy kickers if you have an oversized or otherwise heavy latch they can unlock and let the charging handle hit you in the nose when you shoot.

Boolit Master

it should not, you have problems. the handle itself has a small hook on the latch that grabs a ridge on the rcvr. that hook should keep it from moving during firing.