WidenersRotoMetals2Snyders JerkyLoad Data
Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingRepackbox
Inline Fabrication MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How many cast boolits do you make.

Boolit Buddy

How many cast boolits do you make.

I've been casting boolits for about 30 years now. I was in the garage casting.45 slugs and filled my 50 cal ammo can to the top. I realized I don't cast to make a specific amount of boolits by count, Rather I cast to fill different containers. I use 30 cal ammo cans, 50 cal and some large plastic containers. I have several ammo cans filled with different weights/designs of the same caliber. Does any one else do this or do you keep count of exactly what you have?

Boolit Master

I cast by weight. I have these plastic jars I get from the dollar store. They hold 20lbs of bullets. Each bullet gets three containers. When I get halfway through the last container. I fire up the pot and refill the containers.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
    "Speak softly and carry a big stick; you will go far."
    ~Theodore Roosevelt~

I have started using 30 cal containers. I cast them enough to fill up and when I pull the last of it (or close) to coat/lube and size, it is time to cast more. I only cast one boolit for 45 at present so I am a lot more touchy when that container gets light than 38, which I cast several boolits for. Maybe time to either fill up a second container with the 45s I like, or find a second boolit profile.
    When you care enough to send the very best, send an ounce of lead.

Boolit Grand Master

Back in the woods a piece, just outside Auburn, AL.
    I usually cast a ProMelt pot full at a time. I might cast two on some days, but it's always the pot that stops me and not any count. I do that later.
    KE4GWE - - - - - - Colt 1860, it just feels right.

Boolit Buddy
    In my shoes. And where ever they take me.
    Same as you. Who wants to count.