MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionTitan Reloading
RepackboxInline FabricationLoad DataWideners
Reloading Everything

Thread: Quick question regarding velocity and leading

Boolit Bub

Quick question regarding velocity and leading

Hi there,

I'm still pretty new to cast so I figured I'd ask just to make sure. I put together some loads using a Kieth style 160gr HP with 13grs 2400 @ 1200 FPS and 173gr SWC with 12grs 2400 @ 1130FPS out of a 4" barrel. These were cast as a 2-2-96 alloy. Does this velocity sound like a good place to be at? My previous load was a 158gr PC SWC with 13.5 grs 2400 @ 1250 FPS. I'm curious if it's worth it to try a get the 160 gr a little faster. I'm shooting a model 19, and I'd hate to wear it out shooting to high of magnum loads. The other thing is I believe I have some leading on the last 1/2" of barrel, which if I understand correctly means there isn't enough lube on the bullet. Does this mean that I should lower velocity? I've attached a photo which hopefully shows the extent of it.

Boolit Grand Master

What lube are you using?
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Bub
    Unfortunately I don't know what lube it is, as I bought these from GT Bullets online. Though there is a picture, which may give an idea of what lube it is.

Boolit Grand Master
    Those loads (and velocities) are fine, as long as the boolit matches cylinder throat and barrel diameters. Commercial boolit lubes like this are not always the best, since they are designed to withstand shipping and handling more than lubrication performance.
    You cannot discover new oceans unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore

Boolit Master