Inline FabricationLoad DataRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
MidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingRepackbox
Wideners
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hearts and livers and other organ meats

Hearts and livers and other organ meats

I've been working at the deer processors for probably 12 years now tonight was the first time someone requested that the heart and liver and kidney meat be ground up with the rest of the meat . He had them in a bag inside the carcass . Was a neck shot so all was still in good shape . I know lots of folk eat the organ meats from cow but like I said first time hearing anyone want to eat deer organ meat . Ok so who here eats it ? As is or in with the ground meat ? Taste any different ? Thinking about grinding it up in mine if I get one this year
    If you find yourself in a fair fight, your tactics suck!

A buddy did.
    We'd gone hunting for years before he wanted them. So, next trip out, we saved them for him.

Later on, his wife talked about different ways to cook them, and he called me for something.
    In the background his wife said, "Hey, ask him if he wants to come over and have dinner and I'll cook them".

I told him, after some hemming & hawwwing,,,, I really didn't care for organ meats, but thank you anyway.

He held the phone away, and yelled back over to his wife, "Ed. says he don't eat guts"!!
    Last edited by Winger Ed.; 12-05-2019 at 09:13 PM.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

Boolit Master