Snyders JerkyRepackboxRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Titan ReloadingInline FabricationReloading EverythingWideners
Load Data MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ordered My First MiHec Mold!

Ordered My First MiHec Mold!

Ordered the .356-125 FRN flat base, no lube groove, 8 cavity aluminum mold last night. Already tracks as being picked up by DHL. Now *that's* fast shipping! MP had that mold on sale for ~73 bucks, right up until the time that I actually ordered the mold. : / It took me that long to convince the wife that I *really* wanted this mold for Christmas. Ah well, no big deal, as I really don't mind supporting a guy that makes high quality products for the shooting sports.

I've been shopping for a new 9mm mold for several months now. I kept waffling back and forth between the MP mold I ordered, and a very similar design from Accurate. Two primary differences: 1. The Accurate mold has a bevel base, which I love because I load up a minimum of 1k rounds of 9mm each week, and the bevel base makes starting the boolit into the case so much easier. 2. The Accurate mold came with a max of five cavities.

Since I cast so many 9mm per week, I decided it was better to be casting three more boolits per throw than the convenience of the bevel base, so the MP mold won out in the end.

I ordered the .356 diameter version, as that diameter is listed as being what it throws with wheel weights. I use a tin rich alloy that usually throws between two and three thou more than what manufacturers list as what the mold throws with wheel weights. So I'm expecting this mold to throw .001 to .002 over the published .356. Add PC over the top, and it might get me to .358 (which is what I use in all three of my 9mm's) without having to size the boolits. And I can always reduce the tin a bit to bring the as-cast diameter down a bit, too.