ADvertise hereLee PrecisionRepackboxRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners

Thread: Red Army Standard Ammo and SKS-AK Rifles

Red Army Standard Ammo and SKS-AK Rifles

I am having some ammo issues with my SKS and AK's. I know that the SKS is prone to slamfires, but in my entire life, I have never experienced this until now. Recently I got a batch of Red Army Standard 7.62 made in Russia. I was told this was great stuff and made at same factory as Golden Tiger.

Anyways, i have been experiencing slamfires in all of my SKS and AK rifles with this ammo. All these rifles never slamfire until now. Like I said, this is something that I ever had happen and I've been shooting SKS rifles since the 1980"s.

All my rifles have clean firing pins that have no grease in channels of bolt. Also one of the guns is a pre-1952 with the spring loaded firing pin and I got a nice 3 round burst out of that as well. I was wondering if anybody else has experienced this? I have another RAS case left but going forward I will get Wolf or Tulammo for sure.

Boolit Master

I don't know about the AK platforms, but check the sear engagement angle. Surplusrifle.com had an article about checking that, but, alas, is no longer a functioning website. Maybe Google can help?
    Lead Forever!

The 2nd amendment was never intended to allow private citizens to 'keep and bear arms.' If it had, there would have been wording such as 'the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. -Ken Konecki, July 27, 1992

John Galt was here.

Boolit Master