Reloading EverythingLoad DataRotoMetals2Repackbox
Snyders JerkyLee PrecisionWidenersMidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline Fabrication Titan Reloading

Thread: Need a little Lee mold advice for 1911...

Boolit Master

Alturas, California...where the west still lives!

Need a little Lee mold advice for 1911...

At this point, I've been using Lee's TL452 230 2R mold for my Rock Island 1911 and it feeds/shoots beautifully. I'd like to try a semi wadcutter design so I've been looking at their 452 200 SWC. I have a couple of concerns though before I decide to buy it.

I just used a Hensley and Gibbs #130 to cast a bunch of very nice looking semi wadcutters........but they wouldn't feed! In fact, they jammed the gun so bad I had to disassemble it to restore function. I attribute this to the "curved" shape of the boolit, combined with a shorter overall length which cause feeding problems. I can't seat the boolit out any farther, as the sharp edge would be beyond the case mouth....headspace problems.

So, has anyone here used the Lee 200 grain semi wadcutter in their 1911? Is it the same length as the 230 grain? Any major headaches, failures to feed, etc.? Thanks in advance.

I use it for two different 1911’s.
    You will have to work with the seating depth to get the feed right but it will cut clean holes in paper

Boolit Master

Thanks Pablo, sounds encouraging!

Boolit Master
    If I understand how you are loading the current SWC's, they are too short. You do seat them so the major dia of the bullet is out of the case. The pistol will still head space on the case mouth, not the bullet shoulder, if everything is sized correctly.

A big help for me was using a proper taper crimp die and adjusting it correctly.

I used the Lee SWC, round nose and TC molds and all worked in several 1911's. You might have to change the OAL a bit to make them feed well. If your feed ramp on the barrel in in the frame are not polished you might also have some problems there.