Lee PrecisionInline FabricationRotoMetals2Wideners
Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRepackboxPBcastco
MidSouth Shooters Supply Load Data

Thread: Paper Patched Alloy Bullets for the 6.5 Creedmoor ... ?

Banned

Paper Patched Alloy Bullets for the 6.5 Creedmoor ... ?

Whilst for years I only load paper patched alloy slicks under black powder for .45-70 Sharps and rollers, I'm a total newbie to paper patching for smokeless cartridges. As a cold weather respite from the rituals of the holy black, I cobbled together a "lazy man's" Rem 783 bolt gun in 6.5 Creedmoor that's shot well out to 700 yards for me with the copper clad projectile smokeless cartridges I've built. If paper patching smokeless for this caliber/cartridge is doable, I'd like to give it a go with cast bullets and stop using those store bought copper slicks. The gun will mostly be used for targets, but also the occasional varmint/hog/deer sniping. Any and all comments and opinions most welcomed, much obliged.

Boolit Master
    Interested here on this too but I believe that the muzzle brake will give your accuracy fits....as the boolit exits the paper separates in the cloud of gas as it overtakes the bullet just after the base moves past the crown. For that split second of a split second there is alot of turbulent gas around the boolit and the paper starts to peel away....in a muzzle brake (as I understand it) the gas and paper and turbulent flow of gasses really mess with the expected consistency needed for paper patching.

However, I still plan to test it. I have a rem 700 long range in 30 06 I plan to put a muzzle brake on and test accuracy of paper patch loads with and without the muzzle brake. Sure poi will shift but does accuracy suffer? Can I work up a load that will work specifically with muzzle brake? Don't know.... prospect may not look great but I need to try and see for myself.

I would encourage you to do the same too...let us know how it goes

Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk