RepackboxTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingWidenersSnyders Jerky
Inline Fabrication Lee Precision

Thread: Figuring Alloys

Figuring Alloys

I've had difficulties trying to estimate alloys.
    I ran across this on Youtube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Y0raK6_Vbk

What do the knowledgeable people here have to think of this?
    My OS is Linux so the alloy calculators for windows don't work.
    And I'm not interested in WINE or a sandbox to run them.

Thanks for your answers
    Those who choose violence as a first option are typically confronted by somebody else using violence as a last resort.

Live a good, honorable life. Then when you get older and think back, you’ll enjoy it a second time.

Do not confuse my being polite for weakness.
    Using MX Linux 21

From the free state of Idaho

Boolit Master

I have been using the mixing cross for a couple years now. It works.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
    "Speak softly and carry a big stick; you will go far."
    ~Theodore Roosevelt~

Banned
    Did the math, looks like a simple solution

Brinell Hardness of lead mixes are fairly linear.

If you take:

1 Lb BHN 11 and 1 Lb BHN 22 (11+22)/2 = 2 Lbs BHN 16.5

2 Lbs BHN 11, and 1 Lb BHN 22 = (11+11+22)/3 = 3 Lbs BHN 14.7

3 Lbs BHN 5, and 1 Lb BHN 22 = (5+5+5+22)/4 = 4 Lbs BHN 7.4

1 Lb BHN 5, and 1 Lb BHN 11, and 1 Lb BHN 22 = (5+11+22)/3 = 3 Lbs 12.7 BHN

In real life, you'll find the BHN of lead alloys isn't so set though. The BHN of lead alloy containing Tin and Antimony (the most common additions to lead alloys) changes over time. It'll be soft when it first solidifies and fairly set 24 hours later. I can measure BHN's to within about 0.5 BHN reliably, and have watched alloys harden, and then soften over a month to 90 days. For the most part, lead alloys reach most of there hardness after a week, adding just a little bit more after a month.

This was a graph that someone posted on different alloys: