PBcastcoReloading EverythingWidenersInline Fabrication
RotoMetals2RepackboxLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Load Data MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Browning B-78 in 30-06 for cast boolet shooting

Boolit Master

Cool Browning B-78 in 30-06 for cast boolet shooting

I managed to come a cross a B-78 a few months ago, and it was in basiclly brand new condition! The stock was refinished with an oil finish. Love the look of it!

I started shooting this rifle with j-words, and it was a seriously tight shooter! I was very, VERY pleased with my new shooting iron!

Then I happened to check the barrels twist rate. It was 1:12”! I was quite suprised this see this pitch in a 30-06! I am used to seeing 1:10 in 30-06’s.

With this newly found information, I plan to implement “operation cast boolet load development”! Wohoo!

I am hoping to comfortably get well over 2000 fps with a couple cast boolet designs and weights.

First I will try is #311299, 200 grain bore rider.

Then the 311644, 190 grain.

This rifle will most definitely be used for hunting. I hope to smash a big old bull elk with this rifle! The shot will most likely be inside 100 yards.
    I will likely use 18lbs WW + 2 lbs lead free solder tin/copper.
    This alloy has worked well on deer sized game, and bears (in 45-70).

I am really pumped to see this rifles potential!

https://photos.app.goo.gl/Yqv71udsn5Nhv3tH8

Hope the pictures work out!
    Last edited by Dthunter; 10-12-2019 at 08:49 PM. Reason: Spelling

Boolit Master
    Ive got a b78 in 30-06 too. I love the rifle, very trim with its tapered octagon barrel. Its one of my most accurate rifles with J words. Unfortunately I haven't had time to try cast in it yet. But now that I know its 1:12 twist I will give it a try.
    I was a dog on a short chain.
    Now there's no chain.
    Jim Harrison

Boolit Master