Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
Reloading EverythingRepackboxInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Wideners Load Data

Thread: Winchester Model 1873, Octagon

Boolit Mold

Winchester Model 1873, Octagon

I'm new to fire arm repair so please don't tear me down. I recently picked up a Winchester Model 1873 Octagon in .44-40 WCF. It's missing some parts. Written on top is "Winchester Repeating Arms New Haven CT. It has an Octagon barrel and overall is in good shape. Its missing the slide on top that should close when you shut the lever and a screw that a sling would attach to at the front of the stock. I know the parts need to be time correct and I wont touch a thing until I make sure its not going to hurt the value. Any help would be appreciated SEE NEW PICTURES BELOWClick image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3741.jpg 
Views:	71 
Size:	11.2 KB 
ID:	249501Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3742.jpg 
Views:	79 
Size:	12.5 KB 
ID:	249502Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3740.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	26.9 KB 
ID:	249499Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3743.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	23.0 KB 
ID:	249503Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3739.jpg 
Views:	83 
Size:	23.3 KB 
ID:	249500Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3744.jpg 
Views:	77 
Size:	28.8 KB 
ID:	249504
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails WIN 1.jpg   WIN 2.jpg   WIN 3.jpg   WIN 4.jpg   WIN 5.jpg  

WIN 6.jpg  
    Last edited by Bvinsonhaler78; 10-09-2019 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Wrong Picture

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    With its brass receiver your rifle is not an 1873, but an 1866 4th Model. Its serial number would date it 1869. I would VERY STRONGLY suggest that you consult a knowledgeable gunsmith having expertise on these old rifles, because in original condition this gun is worth too much to shoot. John Taylor in Puyallup, WA is a regular on this form. I would PM him.