Titan ReloadingReloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline Fabrication
RepackboxRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Load Data Wideners

Thread: Speed Check, Fellas?

Boolit Bub

Speed Check, Fellas?

I've been at it a couple years now, with cast boolits… and I am still learning things.

I am currently playing with smokeless loads in 45-70 in a Rem roller repro, and am sitting down to do some serious work with it. Question - in your opinion, how fast should a 510 grain round nose be moving in this calibre to approximate black powder velocities? I have heard 1100~1200 FPS... but I notice that the velocities really start to level out in the high 1300's... the extreme spreads and standard deviations drop to respectable values around those speeds. I ask, because I am getting some leading.

How fast is too fast for these guns? At what velocities do the gas checks come out?

Hope you all are having a good one, and that the 2019 hunting season is good to ya!

Cheers!

Boolit Master

You are getting into Ruger No. 1 velocities with those loads. You might try a bullet in the 400g range to see if you get better results.
    NRA Benefactor Member NRA Golden Eagle

Boolit Master
    The old government black powder load was a 500gr round nose at 1180 fps and winchester's old smokeless load was about the same. Lyman's 457125 is a close duplicate to the gov't bullet. If you want speed try the Lyman Gould hollow point 457122 it weighs 330grs.
    Last edited by 1Hawkeye; 10-09-2019 at 07:47 PM.

Boolit Grand Master

My BP loads are running in the 1150-1200 fps range with a 550 grn bullet. This carries well and really takes rams down. at 500yds. These big bullets carry velocity very good.