WidenersRepackboxReloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
Inline Fabrication RotoMetals2

Thread: what is your personal favorite partridge/grouse recipe?

Boolit Buddy

what is your personal favorite partridge/grouse recipe?

What is your favorite recipe for ruffed grouse? (we call it partridge here but I gather that's not exactly correct)

I've got the breast already cut up and sitting in reconstituted buttermilk to marinate overnight, but looking to hear whatever tips anyone has on cooking them in general even if it wouldn't apply to this cooking session for me.

I'm a novice on this so general cooking tips for grouse or exact recipes are both appreciated.

I found a recipe for fried breaded buttermilk breasts that sounded too good to pass up. https://www.thefield.co.uk/food/cris...ta-salad-39793 I'm just doing the buttermilk meat part not the salad thing.

Boolit Buddy
    I am a fairly simple fellow and cook most foul the same way, roll the pieces in flour and fry them. The bigger birds, honkers, turkeys and such like, get baked.

Now that I think about it some, that is how I cook most meat, floured and fried. Fish get rolled in cornmeal before putting in the skillet.

Enjoy eating it, no matter how you cook it.

We used to use grouse (and we called the partridge as well but they are really ruffed grouse) as camp food during deer season. We'd make a n easy dish by fricasseeing the bird breast in a frying pan with water and butter...let the water boil off and the butter will brown the meat when the water has boiled off. Then we'd mix a can of cream style corn and a can of cut up potatoes into the frying pan...it became a chicken corn chowder of sorts. pretty tasty and pretty simple.