Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice for a beginner

Boolit Mold

Advice for a beginner

Hi there - new member and first post.
    Was looking for some advice regarding molds
    And equipment. I have been shooting for a few years
    And reloading for the last 2. In that time I have discovered
    I enjoy reloading as much. If not more than shooting.
    The next aspect of this I want
    to explore is casting.
    I shoot cowboy action using a Rossi 92
    Chambered in 44-40.
    Any some ‘single time’ suggestions
    For molds and equipment?
    Basically if you have years of experience and
    Had to start over and had nothing , what would
    You suggest? I also use 357 mag
    with the cowboy action shooting. i don’t plan on using smokeless, but may
    expand my to silhouette in the future.
    Any insights would be appreciated!

Best thing to do would dig around here reading for a few hours.

There's hundreds of years of experience here, just a click away.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

Boolit Master

Advice for a beginner

Can’t give much advice on the 44-40 but I started casting maybe 7 years ago so startup is still pretty fresh for me.

For your furnace, I would recommend getting a Lee bottom pour 20lb pot to start, these have their down sides but are relatively cheap by comparison to nicer rigs. You can start by ladle pouring till you get your basic experience then switch to bottom pour when ready. If you don’t intend to bottom pour ever or need to be more budget conscious then the Big Dipper set on Amazon might be the right way to go since it comes with a pretty decent starting kit.

A good Lyman dipper will serve you well to start.