RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Inline FabricationWidenersRepackboxLoad Data
MidSouth Shooters Supply Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Formula for reduced loads

Boolit Man

Formula for reduced loads

gonna throw this out for discussion- i am not an expert (beginner in reality).

I am frustrated by the lack of published data for loading full wadcutters for 44s and 45 colt (i'll include 41 magnum in this). I am interested in everyone's thoughts as to what i should do to get this data.

I know, from reading a lot of the internet discussions, that the change in seating depth for a full wadcutter makes a safe load potentially unsafe or even deadly. With this in mind, if i subtract the full wadcutter load COL from the published data COL i would get a factor to reduce the published load by. Subtracting this factor from the published load would give me a load that might be considered in range.
    first, does this make sense to you guys with experience?
    second, what other factors am i not taking into account? for example, if the load is fast burning vs moderate does that change how i should be thinking of this?

Interested in the opinions of you guys who have been at this far longer than me
    Thanks in advance.

Banned
    As you know, full wadcutters seat deeper in the case. What makes some loads for that same boolit weight unsafe for the wadcutters is with slower powders that fill up the case more you will get compressed loads.

I use faster powders that require less powder to avoid this.

you measure the depth the wadcutter seats and the height of the powder in the case to see if it will compress or not.

not to confuse you but some powders work OK with compressed loads but I like to keep things simple

Boolit Man
    thank you for that. it is interesting that when i used this formula against some loads i have found it seems to be very close so hopefully on the right track here

Banned