Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRotoMetals2
WidenersTitan ReloadingLoad DataLee Precision
Repackbox

Thread: Basic Lube Question

Basic Lube Question

I am very new to bullet casting. And on my own. In fact, the very first time I plugged in my pot was last night. I melted wheel weights. Casting for .45 Colt and .44 Spl for 800 to 950 FPS. Have been reloading for a few years and want to cut another cord. Just trying to figure out all my steps.

That said, I have collected some odds and ends. 2 mould, the Lee sizing dies, and I have some vintage hard cylinders of Lee Alox, the little tin pans, and hand Lee sizers in a kit I picked up in a pawnshop for almost nothing. I realize this is not mass production, but I’m learning, so....

I have a LARGE block of hard (CX ski) wax. Can this be melted and mixed with the Alox, bees wax, solvent, or Johnson’s to make a lube for pan sizing? Or tumbling? In a Goodwill pot on the stove? And once melted, will it stay soft or liquid if I mix in some solvent?

Or should I just get liquid Alox for now?
    Sorry if I Sound like an idiot, but I don’t know anyone else who casts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

over the hill, out in the woods and far away
    I don't know what is in the ski wax, so would avoid using it. If you have the Lee stick Alox, that is 50-50 Alox and synthetic beeswax, intended for use in a lubricator-sizer. If you want to soften that lube to make it easier to use for pan lubing you can melt and blend it with an equal part by melted liquid volume with Vaseline or petrolatum. I would melt both in a double-boiler taking precautions against fire, as both are flammable.