WidenersLoad DataReloading EverythingRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Snyders Jerky RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sawdust

Boolit Mold

Sawdust

Bought 2 55gal drum size bags of pine sawdust for $5/each. They come in heavy duty clear bags. If you're near Galien Mi check them out.

http://krumriesms.com

How much fluxing can one guy do? Wow, 110 gallons of sawdust!
    I'm a Happy Clinger.

Anyone in my area need sawdust message me. Bring your own box.

Boolit Mold

Quote Originally Posted by BNE View Post
    How much fluxing can one guy do? Wow, 110 gallons of sawdust!
    I'm new to the game so figure get as much as I can now of everything casting wise before 2020. I got plenty of reloading stuff to last me 3yrs but want to focus on primers and powder come Nov. Some of the dust will be used for rabbit bedding.

I use sawdust for flux when melting weights into ingots. It seems it helps remove the garbage. I don't scrimp on it, maybe use 1/3 of a coffee can of sawdust for 40-50 pounds of weights. Then I flux with wax after the initial sawdust fluxing.

Boolit Grand Master

That sounds like a lot but if you have the space to store it the price was certainly right. I would probably try to find some metal barrels or trash cans to put it in to keep mice out of it.

Moderator Emeritus

I, too, am a sawdust user, gleaning mine from under one of my table-saws. I simply dropped a piece of surplus plastic window material atop stand opening, and the 'dust accumulates at a rate pretty close to my fluxing need use.
    The reason I'm posting this is to add that LOTS of wood nowadays isn't "pure" wood. Sawdust from Wolmanized wood (aka, "pressure treated") uses a copper azole process making its fumes -- when heated/charred/burned QUITE TOXIC to breathe. Also, several repetitive saw cuts on many different painted wood pieces sawdust will also produce toxic fumes if/when used atop the lead pot.