Inline FabricationWidenersRotoMetals2Reloading Everything
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
Load Data Repackbox

Thread: Identifying old Lyman Colt 45 reloading dies

Boolit Mold

Identifying old Lyman Colt 45 reloading dies

Hi -

This is my first Cast Boolits post so I hope I'm in the right place. I have been reloading stuff, off and on, for more than 50 years, various caliber as my interests changed, mostly with cast bullets lubricated and sized with a Lyman 45 sizer/lubricator. I recently became interested in shooting Colt 45 loads with a Kirst Konveter modified Pieta 44 Navy repro. I picked up a vintage 3 die Lyman set a few weeks back. I am hoping to use these with a Tru-Line Jr turret tool. The dies are marked as follows:

Colt 45 CMR (looks like a typical Lyman decapper/neck sizing die)
    Colt 45 KF-21 (assume this is a neck expanding die?)
    Colt 45 DA (assume this is a bullet seating/crimping die)

Can anyone tell me if I have identified these dies correctly and they are suitable for Colt 45 reloading.

Thanks,

Rich

Boolit Master
    The DA die is the expanding/flaring die (M die).

Boolit Mold
    Thanks for that info higgins, but now I'm confused because that die has a #190 bullet seater screwed in the top.

Boolit Buddy
    vetpathdoc,

Don't be confused. You have correctly identified your dies and their use, and they are indeed suitable for reloading .45 Colt.

Boolit Mold
    Hey, thanks for that clarification jrmartin1964. It's sure gets confusing. I'm amazed how many times Lyman (Ideal) has changed the names of dies for the same caliber over the years. This might be a topic for another post, but it would take an expert far more knowledgeable than I.