MidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2WidenersTitan Reloading
Reloading EverythingInline FabricationLoad DataLee Precision
Repackbox

Thread: PC questions in an AR 15

PC questions in an AR 15

Anybody running powder coated boolits in an AR 15?

Boolit Master
    Writing from my experience only. Your mileage may vary. I did not find joy with PC with a .22 hornet. I don't think I have the talent, patience, or luck to produce a consistent coating on that small of bullet. I tried PC with a 6.8 spc. The mould was cut by Mountain Molds. It is a pretty tight fit. The added thickness on the ogive meant I had to seat deeper to get reliable feeding.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    7br aka Mark B.

On the internet, I am 6ft tall, good looking and can dance.

Boolit Buddy
    I use them in 300 blk out and they work great! 130gr rcbs 7.62 mold.

I have the Lee 6 cavity 55 grain 22 cal mold. I am just getting started with the testing for my ar. Will try to get some testing done and put the results here. Our range is somewhat under water now but still able to shoot. I have all boolits powder coated with some checked and some plain. Will be using the Lyman cast book(third edition).

Boolit Grand Master
    out of here, wandering somewhere in the SW.
    Those little cast pills are a PITA to handle and coat. I gave up on PC'ing them several years ago. I can find good quality FMJ 223 slugs at gun shows for only a few cents a round. Why waste time trying to coat those little things????????????????

And then there is hassle of gas-checking them!!!! OMG!!!

I say go FMJ all the way on those little teeny 223 things. Stick with PC on normal size slugs (30-50cal). At least with those bigger boys you can get things easily done.

banger

Boolit Mold
    I tried using PC in my AR as a single shot worked fine. Getting it to cycle was another story. I tried numerous powders and loads each wouldn't cycle. If anyone has a magic potion I would like to try it again.
    USN (ret)