MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRotoMetals2Snyders Jerky
Lee PrecisionWidenersTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
Load Data Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 9mm Mold for Hi-Tek Coating

Boolit Mold

9mm Mold for Hi-Tek Coating

I am reaching out to those of you how shoot 9mm and use either Powder Coat or Hi-Tek coating rather than lube.

I am new to casting and just putting together my equipment and find myself a bit confused when it comes to which mold is the best choice for my situation. Typically, I shoot 1500 - 2000 rounds each month and all are 9mm. I use them in a CZ Shadow 1, CZ Shadow II, S&W 929 Revolver and JR9 Carbine.

The bullet I would like to use is a 147 grain round nose as I like the felt recoil from it versus the 124 grain round nose option.

Here is my dilemma.
    I would typically buy the Lee 6 Cavity mold as a starter because it is very reasonably priced and the aluminum mold is quite light. The problem is that Lee only offers a 124 grain mold and not a 147. Also, the Lee mold is designed for use with traditional lube or Liquid Alox. I would like a mold that is specifically designed for Hi-Tek or Poweder Coat.

Could anyone help with a suggestion for a 9mm 147 grain round nose, Aluminum 5/6 Cavity Mold, designed for coatings?

With thanks for any comments.
    Last edited by Matrix; 08-22-2019 at 12:37 AM.

Boolit Master
    I have 2 no lube grove 9 mm molds from Tom at Accurate a 130 gr fp and a 140 gr fp both are 5 cav. I am really happy with the quality of his molds and I use Hi-Tek coating with these bullets.

Boolit Master

You can PC any lube-grooved CBs.
    Bunch of 147g & heavier molds out there (see also group buy archives).
    Round nosed heavies maybe a tad challenging to seat than RFNs but workable.
    NLG (non-lube-grooved) molds are likewise offered by Mihec, MP, NOE & the likes compared to traditional LG molds from Lyman, RCBS or Lee.
    ...Speak softly & carry a big stick...

Boolit Master