RotoMetals2Load DataReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
Snyders JerkyRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan Reloading
Wideners Lee Precision

Thread: Stained brass?

Stained brass?

I'm new to reloading. I had some OLD 30-30 brass that needed cleaning (IMHO) prior to reuse. Several had green "mold" that scraped-off, but left an awful brown stain on the brass.
    I tumbled the brass in rice...worked great but the dark brown spots still remained. I tried several remedies including 0000 steel wool...tough stains. Then I tried "Bar Keepers Friend" that my wife keeps under the kitchen cabinet. BAM! Stains gone with minimal scrubbing with a paper towel! It's the same consistency as comet or Ajax powder.
    Y'all probably already know this, but it was new to me.
    Good hunting.

Boolit Grand Master

Bar Keeper's Friend is very popular among fiber glass boat owners. Cleans well but won't scratch gel coat. Run your fingernail along the "dark brown spots" after cleaning. If you can feel any rough spots, the brass has been compromised by corrosion, and will be weak in that area. Toss 'em...
    My Anchor is holding fast!

No rough spots...just surface discoloration.

Boolit Buddy
    I found some awesome looking black brass among oak leaves. I want to try it out this fall - they polish up beautifully.

If in boubt... toss it out. Or into the scrap bucket. It's not worth the risk to you or yours.
    Looking for Ideal mold 419181 (44 Evans Long)
    "Joined Dates" are deceiving if you factor-in "lurk" dates.

Boolit Grand Master

I also observe where the corrosion is on the brass, and how large it is. neck shoulder area where brass works mire may be a bigger problem than mid body. back at the case head where stretch occurs is more questionable also

30-30 brass is plentiful around here. If in doubt, scrap it.
    The sooner I fall behind...the more time I have to catch up with

Moderator Emeritus / Trusted loob groove dealer