Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
WidenersRotoMetals2Lee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Repackbox Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying a New Pot- Lyman or RCBS?

Boolit Master

Buying a New Pot- Lyman or RCBS?

I have been rocking my old LEE bottom pour pot for over 7 years. She has been good to me, but the ride is about over. She is increasingly finnicky. Gets clogged up constantly, gets stuck open, drips, screws constantly coming loose, ect. I have deemed it time to upgrade. I'm looking to spend around $200-$250. I would appreciate some seasoned casters input on pros and cons.

Boolit Master

I have both the new Lyman and the new RCBS. RCBS all the way over Lyman. Lee 20 lbs over the Lyman too. Don't buy the Lyman. The rcbs is easier to cast on because of the open front and the mold guide is easier to adjust.

Boolit Master
    Haven’t heard much positive on the Lyman units anywhere I’ve looked.

I have one of the RCBS Pro Melt I (no built in PID) and love it. This unit was used to me and I can’t speak highly enough about it.

Can’t speak to the Pro Melt II but the idea of having to leave plugged in so built in PID could cool was not conducive to my setup so didn’t want to go that route.

Boolit Buddy
    I'd go with the RCBS, or old Saeco.

Boolit Buddy
    I would look on some of the popular web-sites for used RCBS pro-melt or post on this forum in the WTB section. There are older casters who are getting out of the hobby who have a RCBS pro-melt that they might sell.

I own a Lyman Mag 20 and it's served me well for years. I was lucky enough to get one of the last of the original RCBS Pro Melts and it's one fine casting pot. If I were in need of a new furnace it would be the RCBS. As others have mentioned, look for one of the used Pro Melts, well worth the money. Gp

Boolit Master