Titan ReloadingWidenersRotoMetals2Load Data
Lee PrecisionReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters Supply Repackbox

Thread: Honing out a mold to increase bullet diameter

Boolit Buddy
    Dry tropics of Australia. Where crocs and Barra rule!

Honing out a mold to increase bullet diameter

I have been casting for a few years and have a collection of maybe a dozen molds but I am still a very basic caster.
    I recently purchased a Lyman Gould mold for my 45-70. The bullets drop at around 456 to 457. I have tried using a hot mold and cooler lead. I have also tried powder coating a couple of times to try and bring the diameter up to 459 but they still come up a bit looser than desired.
    Can I please ask, what is the best way/techniques to hone the mold out? Is this even effective?

Thanks in advance

Boolit Master

Lawrence, this is what you need to do. I just opened up a mould that was old and dropped quite a bit small. It is much easier once you have done the first cavity, it all starts to make sense.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...hod-(In-parts)

Moderator Emeritus

I moved your thread to a more specific section, you should get a lot of responses here.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

Boolit Buddy
    That is awesome Mattw!
    Thanks

Boolit Grand Master

You're passing up the perfect excuse to buy a new Mould !

But honey...this mould is too small for my rifle , I don't want to ruin it so I have to buy a nice new custom mould that fits my rifle !

Or words to that effect...always be on the lookout for an excuse to buy another mould...
    With my limited mechanical ability if I tried to enlarge the cavities of a mould, like in the link in post # 2 , No two cavities would be the same, maybe even lopsided and then it would be useful only as a fishing weight on a trotline ...