RepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingSnyders Jerky
Inline FabricationReloading EverythingWidenersRotoMetals2
Lee Precision Load Data

Thread: Velocity seems too high

Velocity seems too high

I loaded some 429421 pc boolits over 8.5 grains of unique and the velocity was a good bit higher than I was expecting. 1052 with a 10 shot string mixed head stamp brass and a sd of 11. This is out of a 7 1/2” Super Redhawk. Well above what my Lyman book said. Have y’all ran into this before? I seared to the crimp ring.

First thing. What was the test firearm? There are many factors that affect velocity in a revolver, including B/C gap, barrel uniformity and smoothness, etc. I know that in my cast bullet handbook, the test firearm is a 4” universal receiver. I am not an expert, but this is not unusual.
    Due to the price of primers, warning shots will no longer be given!

Boolit Master
    my notes: 6.5" SBH 240swc 10.5gr unique 1160fps, 11.5gr 1220fps.

lyman is a bit like that

Boolit Grand Master

Lyman uses a 4" test barrel for their 44 magnum velocities.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

It just kinda puzzled me that Lyman listed a starting load of 9.8 at 912 FPS and being close to 1 1/2 grains lower I had much better velocity. I guess as fast as unique is I was not expecting the extra barrel length to make that much difference. I will say that the 8.5 load was mighty accurate and it may become my all around load from plinking to deer and hogs.

Groo here
    Also remrember lead boolets are faster than jacket [often 100 fps in heaver loads] due to the
    hardness of the jacket...

This seems perfectly normal data to me....

Boolit Grand Master

255 gr RCBS 44-250-K over 8.5 gr Unique in W-W cases with WLP primer; 4" Colt Anaconda ran 930 fps, 6 1/2" Ruger FTBH ran 1010 fps.