Reloading EverythingInline FabricationSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
RepackboxRotoMetals2WidenersLee Precision
Load Data Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Time to cut fire wood

Boolit Master

Time to cut fire wood

I was always told by the old folks the best time to cut fire wood was a cold day in July.
    Well this morning it’s 70’ guess it time. I think the temp has a lot to do with is but it also gives the wood time to dry out enough to burn in the fall.

Moderator Emeritus

I was told by old timers that one of the beauties of heating with wood is that each piece gives warmth FOUR times: 1st when you cut it and split it; 2nd when you stack it; 3rd when you haul it in to burn; and, 4th when it is actually burning. I've been heating with wood for 44 years, and can vouch for same. I have eight cord scheduled to be delivered next week -- my bum leg kind of put the dampers on my cutting a few years ago. But, I do get the extra heats from the splitting (I do have a petrol (Honda) powered log splitter; and, a Kubota tractor which is a God-send in moving it to the storage pile.
    BUT, you are most correct -- it IS that time of year!
    geo

Boolit Master

Relatively cold here too. It's only getting to high 80's- low 90's for the next couple days.

That's as cold as it gets here in July. Very unusual

Boolit Buddy
    See the National Weather Service instructions for how to bake Lasagna in your mailbox. This is the second day that I will be able to do it!
    West of Beaver Dick's Ferry.

Boolit Master
    I am way behind I wanted to have 3 bundels of slab home and cut up. but for the last 2 months it has been a doctor of test every week then the rain comes. I am hoping I can get a bundle hone this week.
    my main doctor does like that I split wood by hand. he also liked my other exercise machine a rototiller.

Boolit Master

Cutting wood this Saturday... Spent the last two weekends picking huckleberries...

Attachment 245647