Lee PrecisionInline FabricationMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
Load DataRotoMetals2Reloading EverythingTitan Reloading
Repackbox

Thread: The Maagma Master Pot Mods And Issues With It

The Magma Master Pot Mods And Issues With It

I got my Master Pot not too long ago and made a video in another thread about it. This thread is information about what issues and mods I have found and made.

Once I got the Master Pot set up and began casting I realized at once that the factory mould rest had to go. As it is I feel its completely unsuitable, maybe its made the way it is for the Master Caster.

I made a rough mould rest from some 1/8" flat steel scrap drilled a 5/8 hole in it for drips and bolted in onto the existing shelve in the existing holes so no mods to the factory shelve. The mould rest has 3/8 square bar stock welded to it to form a channel for my Lyman and Lee 4 and 6 cavity moulds. I made it slightly loose so as not to bind the moulds. I replaced the shelve nuts with wing nuts and adjusted the new shelve for my Lyman moulds which are a bit higher then the Lee. I began casting with a 4 cavity Lyman 225 gr RN classic bullet for the .45 ACP I had most of the bullets coming out shiny and wrinkled at the 700F setting. The Lee 6 cavity 125 gr RN 9mm bullets were the same . I had heated the moulds very well and did not have lead thermometer so I ordered one. While waiting for it to come in I turned the heat up to the max 800F setting, still wrinkled bullets.

Then I adjusted the thermostat It takes a small flat screwdriver to remove the dial handle as there's a spring behind it then the end of the thermostats hollow shaft has a tiny watchmakers size screw that you turn left counter clockwise to raise the heat hotter. After several test casts letting the pot come to temp for 1 hr 20 minutes I finally started getting good bullets from the .45 mould but still too many wrinkled bullets from the 9mm mould to suit me.