Load DataReloading EverythingRepackboxMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionWidenersSnyders JerkyInline Fabrication
RotoMetals2 Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does hardness matter for pistols

Boolit Bub

Does hardness matter for pistols

I'm pretty new to casting, I have some ingots I made from a mix of lead I had accumulated over the years and then today I bought some more. Lot of soft sheet lead and a few wheel weights and a lot of scuba weights. It's going to be very similar to the ingots I have been making bullets with. I have no idea what hardness they are. The bullets come out looking nice, I powder coat and water quench them and haven't gotten any leading in my guns. So, my question is, if you are powder coating low velocity bullets, does composition or hardness of the bullets matter that much?

Sent from my moto e5 cruise using Tapatalk

Boolit Grand Master

If you are PC low velocity loads even pure lead shouldn't leave streaks in you barrel.

Every year I accumulate a bunch of unknown alloy lead. I smelt it all together and pour ingots to cast pistol boolits.
    Old enough to know better, young enough to do it anyway!

Men who don't understand women fall into two categories: bachelors and husbands!

Depends. If your handgun needs are higher pressure/vel, then you will want a harder bullet. For most service calibers, I get by with range scrap hardness about 10BHN. I do PC or HT coat nowdays.
    EVERY GOOD SHOOTER NEEDS TO BE A HANDLOADER.
    NRA Cert. Inst. Met. Reloading & Basic Pistol

Boolit Master

+1 on what Stubshaft said. My regular alloy for 'standard velocity'; handgun (>1100 fps) is 1 part COWW to 3 parts range scrap + 1% Sn and, with PC, I've never detected so much as a him of leading.

"BEEN THERE, DONE THAT" warning: check those scuba weights for Zn before you dump them into your pot 'cause, unless they're some "name brand", they're probably cast from whatever scrap was available to the caster at the time.

Bill