Reloading EverythingMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2Snyders Jerky
RepackboxInline FabricationWidenersTitan Reloading
Load Data Lee Precision
Page 1 of 9 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Red dot and 32 s& w LONG

Boolit Master

Red dot and 32 s& w LONG

I am casting the lee 100 grain round nose, and powder coating. The guns are a 1903 s&w hand ejecter made around 1917, and a ruger sp101 327 fed mag.
    From what I have read, re-read, and researched, 1.6 gr of RD is about the right charge. Does this sound reasonable, or am I thinking wrong. Any help is appreciated as I am new to the 32 caliber handgun game.

1 mile from chickahominy river ( swamp) central va
    You should have no problems with 1.6 gr of red dot To start. I can't find any info in my manuals for anything over 90 gr bullet but i see loads of 2.1 and 2.3 red dot for 90 grain bullets. Work up slow. The 32 sw long has the lowest pressure of pretty much all of the 32's.
    I load this cartridge but mostly use unique.

Boolit Grand Master

Some recently posted pressure test results. Note; Red Dot is very similar to Bullseye in psi per gr used.

The test firearm was a Contender With a 10” barrel chambered in 32 H&R Magnum and a strain gauge affixed over the chamber at the prescribed SAAMI location for pressure measurement. The gauge was connected to the Oehler m43 and its attendant software in a laptop. I was able to measure the pressure and muzzle velocity of the assorted 32 S&W cartridges.

As a reference:
    32 H&R Magnum
    Federal 32 H&R 85 gr LSWC factory ammunition ran 1217 fps (987 fps out of 6 ˝” Ruger SS) at 18,200 psi.
    A Lee TL 90 gr SWC over 3.2 gr Bullseye ran 1128 fps at 16,500 psi

32 S&WL;
    Federal factory WCs; 12,000 psi
    Lee TL 90 gr SWC over 2.8 gr Bullseye ran 1060 fps at 16,800 psi (880 fps out of my M30 S&W with 3” barrel)
    Lee TL 90 gr SWC over 3.2 gr Bullseye ran 1165 fps at 19,300 psi.
    98 gr cast SWC over 2.5 gr Bullseye ran 944 fps at 15,000 psi.