Inline FabricationWidenersRepackboxLoad Data
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating Wild Hog

Boolit Grand Master

Southern France by way of Interior Bush Alaska

Eating Wild Hog

I am a farmer. I have problems with wild hogs. I don’t have a lot of land, but it works for us. Here it seems they come in waves. They are here one day and the next they can be miles and valleys further away. For me, the problem is their braking my fences.

When I have a chance I shoot them. I always recover the meat. Sometimes only the best parts. However, it’s all good meat in my opinion. All pork should be well cooked. Today all pork is tested before it can be sold. Years ago, nobody would eat pork that was not well cooked.

Most of the time I marinate the meat for a day in red wine and spices. Then I cook it with onions and garlic for a few hours. I’ve served it to friends who have said it’s the best meat they have eaten.

Bottom line, it’s good meat. If you shoot more than you want to deal with that’s your choice. But the meat is good.

I've never had a problem with it.

Its common here to wash them off real well, maybe even with plain water in a pressure washer
    before ya take their shirt off because their skin & fur stinks so bad.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.
    In life: We are given tests, and learn lessons.

OK People. Enough of this idle chit-chat.
    This ain't your Grandma's sewing circle.
    EVERYONE!
    Back to your oars. The Captain wants to waterski.

Banned
    Damskippy!
    I’ll eat a pig from the rooter to the tooter!
    It’s illegal to shoot them and not recover them on purpose here in Florida’s state-managed land, what I call cut-and-drop hunting.
    (Buzzards gotta eat too, ya know!)

Vendor Sponsor

I usually take 3 or 4 a year. 75-100 lbs is good eating . anything over that and less than 200 is sausage
    Over 200 its buzzard food for me