Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Snyders JerkyInline FabricationReloading EverythingWideners
RotoMetals2 Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Barreling an old Savage 110 for a "410 shotgun"

Boolit Grand Master

Barreling an old Savage 110 for a "410 shotgun"

I've kind of been off and on again wanting a savage 220, 20 gauge slug gun just for target shooting and possibly hunting. I've been reloading shotgun slugs from mild to wild for many years, and am looking for something more mild. I also have a Savage 110L, built about 1963, just sitting in the closet. I shot the barrel out beyond interesting accuracy, and never was crazy about the 6mm Remington cartridge it's chambered for, so never fixed it. For whatever reason the thought popped into my head, why not a 410 slug gun? A 410 rim is about the same size as a 300 win mag, so my bolt should work with just enlarging the face. I could care less if it doesn't feed, I'd rather just use it as a single shot. It looks like I've got a few options with 410. Chambered for a case 2.5" long, I could shoot either 2 1/2" 410 plastic or paper hulls, 2.45" 410 brass shells, or even 444 marlin brass.

The ID of a 410 brass case is listed as .433". Because of this, I think it would be great with a 44 caliber barrel, and reloaded with 44 mag dies and bullets. I have to imagine a 2 1/2" case full of FFg blackpowder and a 300+ grain bullet is nothing to sneeze at. Loaded with smokeless to 444 marlin levels, I could have the absolute best shotgun zone legal "slug gun" there is. Loaded down with a keith bullet to 1000 fps or so, I can't imagine a better slug gun for a kid.