Titan ReloadingInline FabricationLee PrecisionReloading Everything
RepackboxWidenersSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters Supply Load Data
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: 3d Printed Shotgun Wads

Boolit Bub

3d Printed Shotgun Wads

I have been casting and reloading the Lyman 525 slugs for a bit over a year now. To save money I have basically just been using Walmart Field and Target multi-purpose loads, pouring out the lead, casting the lead into the 525 slugs and re-crimping them (fold crimp). I am currently getting ~4" groups at 50 yards.

I think some of the major accuracy problems with this slug and using a shotcup as a sabot are 1. Shredded wad petals and 2. The diameter of the driving bands on the slug. I am an Engineer and have a 3d printer. I was considering increasing the diameter of the front portion of the Lyman 525 slug by 3d printing a cap for the front portion of the slug, out of nylon, which would bring the front driving band up to 0.72 inches (a bit less than bore diameter for safety), a rear truncated cone to fill the cavity with a ball on the end similar to the Truball slug and printing my own wad with a recess for the ball similar to the Truball slug. I would actually just copy the Truball slug wad in a program like Fusion360.

Any thoughts on whether this is a terrible idea or not? Is 0.72 inches too big or too small for the front driving band?
    Last edited by mikehill85; 05-16-2019 at 03:28 PM.

Mike: The printed cap to bring the Lyman sabot slug up to a bore sized slug sounds interesting. I shoot cylinder bore or rifled slug barrels so .720 sounds small to me. In my smooth bore cylinder barrels I shoot up to .737 round ball. The Lyman doesn't have a very large drive band so my thought is that the cap should bring the size up in the .730 range. Take all this knowing that I'm no expert at all this, just sharing my thoughts. Gp

Boolit Bub