RepackboxInline FabricationTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters Supply
Wideners Reloading Everything

Thread: Rifling a 10 bore SXS

Rifling a 10 bore SXS

Id like to improve the 50 yard groups of my 10 bore sxs. I have been working on many loads for several years and can keep within 8 inches at 50 yards. I believe I can improve that with some rifling. My old english paradox gun (Hollis 12 ga)has very lite rifling and shoots under 3 inches at 50 yards, so me thinks its doable.Anyone know who I might contact to inquire about rifling my barrels?

Boolit Master
    I know a gunsmith that worked up loads for his SxS 10ga.
    He used round ball sized to squeeze a bit going down the barrel, such that there was a flat equator or belt on the ball.
    He claims clay pidgeons at 50 yards was an absolute every time.
    Maybe this helps ??

I have tried them as well with some success, but nothing like my Hollis which has very very l lite rifle...Hollis called it "invisible Rifling".

Might want to look on the Parker forum. Alot of people there specialize in only shotguns... They always help if I need something

http://parkerguns.org/forums/

Boolit Grand Master

A smooth bore is more than capable of 3" groups at 50 yards. The only problem is the lack of slug choices in 10 gauge. 8" at 50 is pretty bad though. Assuming those are reloads, figure out what's going wrong there, plenty of info on this sight. As for upgrades to the gun, even a simple set of rifle sights will drastically improve your accuracy. I've personally seen a bead sight shotgun shooting 5" at 50 yards, go right to 3" at 50 yards, just with sights that clamp onto a vent rib.

Boolit Grand Master

Not sure you will find anyone to rifle 10 ga. barrels but do look.