Inline FabricationRepackboxTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
RotoMetals2Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyWideners
Load Data Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Okay, I want to make a primer tube filler from scratch. Please help!

Okay, I want to make a primer tube filler from scratch. Please help!

So, filling primer tubes sucks. And as far as I can tell all the automated tools to do it also suck. I know people love the frankford and hornady gun type things but my testing with them didn’t prove that successful. What I want is a static mounted machine that will fill tubes that I put under it. I get that the vibration flips them all over using a standard primer tray ribbed surface and that’s great, that part is a no brainer. The trick seems to be to get them to move over a hole which allows them to drop down, WITHOUT tilting and jamming as they fall off a cliff. So, does anyone know of a design theory that will help here? I’m a machinist and have some decent tools and skills at my disposal. Let’s get nerdy!

Boolit Master
    I prime cases using the old style lee hand primer with the flipper tray, which seems to do a fairly good job of getting the primer to drop into the cylindrical chamber which aligns the to be seated primer with the brass supported by the shell holder. It would seem the dimensions lee used in the flipper tray might be a place to start. The diameter of the opening for the primer to drop thru must be pretty critical.
    Last edited by wmitty; 05-04-2019 at 08:49 PM.
    Decreed by our Creator: The man who has been made able to believe and understand that Jesus Christ has been sent into this world by the Father has been born of the Spirit of God. This man shall never experience spiritual death. He will live forever!

I wonder how the pros do it? They might not end up in tubes at all. I can also imagine a process that transitions them onto their side, rolls them down a track and then lets them fall over into the hole.

Boolit Buddy