RepackboxLoad DataMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
WidenersInline FabricationReloading EverythingRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Uberti 1885 .45 Colt

Uberti 1885 .45 Colt

I previously posted about this rifle. I’m trying to settle on loads that match my revolvers. I’ve been shooting 8.5 grains (max) of Unique with 255 grain LSWC in a Ruger Flattop and an old model Vaquero in .45 Colt.

Question: Is there any reason this load would cause unnecessary wear or setback in the lugs/bolt over a long period of repeated use in the 1885 model repro Uberti rifle?

I have the same question concerning a Japanese Winchester 92 in the same caliber.

That is about the hottest load that is fun to shoot in my Ruger revolvers. I think they are probably fine. But not sure.

I am new at shooting larger revolver calibers, but after experimenting with “magnum“ loads, I’m going back to 8.0 - 8.5 grains of Unique. I would like to be comfortable shooting the same loads in the rifles.

Edited for clarity
    Last edited by fn1889m; 04-23-2019 at 03:47 AM.

Boolit Grand Master

Quote Originally Posted by fn1889m View Post
    I previously posted about this rifle. I’m trying to settle on loads that match my revolvers. I’ve been shooting 8.5 grains (max) of Unique with 255 grain LSWC in a Ruger Flattop and an old model Vaquero in .45 Colt.

Question: Is there any reason this load would cause unnecessary wear or setback in the lugs/bolt over a long period of repeated use in the Italian rifle?

I have the same question concerning a Japanese Winchester 92 in the same caliber.

That is about the hottest load that is fun to shoot in my Ruger revolvers. I think they are probably fine. But not sure.

I am new at shooting larger revolver calibers, but after experimenting with “magnum“ loads, I’m going back to 8.0 - 8.5 grains of Unique. I would like to be comfortable shooting the same loads in the rifles.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro