Reloading EverythingLoad DataLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyRepackbox
Inline Fabrication RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Effects of Recoil on Accuracy

Effects of Recoil on Accuracy

This is not really anything not already known, but it was a huge revelation for me. This is one of those nerdy, logical, mathematical type of threads. So I know it will be boring for some, but maybe it will help others. If you want to skip to the potentially most beneficial parts at the end(**) I understand. Also, don't think that I am a mathematician or engineer or anything. Just a guy who wanted to think about what the logical reason for my big groups was.

I know that from my past experiences and perspective, recoil has always been associated with how "accurate" a gun was. Most of the time its attributed to the heavier the recoil, the greater the flinch. Although, knowing that flinching will definitely effect accuracy, I have always tried to 'man up' even if it meant being bitten by the scope or having a sore shoulder. Meaning, I have learned over the years to control my flinch when shooting heavier recoiling rifles.

Never the less it never fails that the lighter recoiling rifles I own are the most accurate. I never gave it much thought, but my current project with a Ruger American in 308 had me contemplating it some more.

The gun is a relatively light recoiling gun. No flinch associated with it at all. It comes in, scope and all, around 7lbs. I have a 7-08 in the compact version, just about the same weight, maybe a few ounces lighter, and it shot a tad bit more 'accurately'. I was starting to wonder if it's just that I had not found the right load yet. I would sometimes get good groups, sometimes even one holing a few at 150 yards, just to have a few 'fliers'.