Lee PrecisionRepackboxReloading EverythingWideners
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Load DataInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters Supply Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie looking for advice

Boolit Mold

Newbie looking for advice

Hi all,

First post here, I've been reloading for about three years and wanting to get into casting. I've searched through the forum but don't really see a "getting started guide" of sorts. If there is one on the forum, please point me in that direction.

I currently plan to shoot around 3-5k rounds per year and ideally would like to cast all of them. I would love to be able to cast more, so I'm open to buying a melter that I can "grow" into as my production increases. I'm working on reading "From Ingot to Target" but I've still got a number of questions:

1) I am able to get range scrap for about $1/lb - is that a good price?

2) What is a normal price for pure lead?

3) Another seller has some 60/40 lead/tin solder bars available - is that any good for boolit casting?

4) I'm leaning towards getting a propane fish fryer and a dutch oven for making ingots. Could I use the same dutch oven for casting boolits, or would I be better off getting a separate one for my "clean" lead? How difficult is it to control the temp of the propane fish fryers?

5) If I were to go the route of an electric furnace, what do you guys recommend - bottom pour or ladle? What brand/model?

Any other information for a rookie starting out would be greatly appreciated. As a teen I messed around with melting aluminum cans and casting ingots with it so I'm not brand-spanking new to working with molten metal, but not experienced by any means. Looking forward to joining the community of casters! Thank you in advance!