MidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackboxInline FabricationLee Precision
Load DataTitan ReloadingSnyders JerkyReloading Everything
Wideners RotoMetals2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 45 colt reloading

Boolit Bub

45 colt reloading

Was going to order a set of 45 colt dies for my rossi 92.As i looked the info about the dies i saw that the roll crimp die was for only 452 heads and not for 454 heads.Now i have been loading 45 colt for over 25 years on a dillon sq deal.Always ysed 452 heads for all my 45 revolvers,never heard anything before about useing a different roll crimp die for 454 heads.Now am confused about what dies to use.[NOTE] I want to use my turret press for the rossi,not the dillon.

Boolit Master

I wouldnt worry too much. In the world today of 45 Colt, folks have forgotten it was once a 454, and probably never knew folks like us still size lead boolets to 454 regularly.

I load .454 all the time and never had had issue with RCBS Redding or Lyman 45 colt dies crimping. (Either Roll or Taper crimps.)

CW
    Last edited by cwlongshot; 03-22-2019 at 03:20 PM.
    NRA Life member • REMEMBER, FREEDOM IS NOT FREE its being paid for in BLOOD.
    Come visit my RUMBLE & uTube page's !!

https://www.RUMBLE.com/user/Cwlongshot
    https://youtube.com/channel/UCBOIIvlk30qD5a7xVLfmyfw

Try a Lee Factory Crimp die. It will put a satisfactory squeeze on either diameter, and the amount of crimp is easily adjusted. Plus, there's the advantage that if the reloaded cartridge will enter and exit the carbide ring that is an integral part of the die it's guaranteed to chamber.

Vendor Sponsor

Quote Originally Posted by Der Gebirgsjager View Post
    Try a Lee Factory Crimp die. It will put a satisfactory squeeze on either diameter, and the amount of crimp is easily adjusted. Plus, there's the advantage that if the reloaded cartridge will enter and exit the carbide ring that is an integral part of the die it's guaranteed to chamber.