WidenersRotoMetals2Snyders JerkyRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading EverythingLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
Load Data Titan Reloading

Thread: cylinder burns?

Boolit Master

cylinder burns?

can someone tell me why after 200 rounds each cylinder shows these burn marks that have changed the finish.loads are less than mid-range in power level.is this normal on blued finish revolvers?

The gun is heat finished buling. This is expected.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I'm no expert but figured it was the result of hot, high pressure gases full of burnt and unburnt lube, powder, bullet metal etc getting blown onto and into the surface.

Funny thing, when I was teaching myself how to chamber rifle barrels, I'd shorten the breech end of a Remington take-off, recut a new chamber and use a light cast bullet load to check my work. Within 20 rounds, the throats in those sectioned rifle barrels were blackened exactly like the cylinder face on a revolver.

Solvents intended for cleaning carbon from ARs usually do a good job on cleaning cylinders. Not sure what they'll do to bluing though!

Boolit Master

You should find a powder mark on the cylinder flutes too.
    Easily seen on a stainless or nickel revolver.

When I shot Cowboy, my Friends both shot STS Vaquero's, 5 1/2" bbl in .45Colt. By the time the match ( 10-12 stages) was over, all their revolvers showed burn marks on cylinder faces & flutes. You have to have a special cloth to clean off the burn marks on the cylinder faces. Brownell's sells them.
    I HATE auto-correct

Happiness is a Warm GUN & more ammo to shoot in it.

My Experience and My Opinion, are just that, Mine.

SASS #375 Life

Boolit Grand Master

Looks more like holster wear to me.
    Larry Gibson

“Deficient observation is merely a form of ignorance and responsible for the many morbid notions and foolish ideas prevailing.”
    ― Nikola Tesla

Boolit Master
    Quote Originally Posted by Walks View Post