Titan ReloadingRepackboxInline FabricationLee Precision
Graf & SonsWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 36 of 36

Thread: Anyone on these forums selling inexpensive PIDs?

  1. #21
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike W1 View Post
    I may be misunderstanding this last statement you made but what you said doesn't jibe with the various wiring diagrams that I've seen. Just relooked at several of them. I assume you mean killing the power to the PID with the switch which would make sense. If the PID isn't powered obviously the SSR isn't going to get a signal to switch the power on/off to the load (lead pot). That what you meant?
    Itís what I said.
    You switch the power to the PID controller itself.
    That is just a 1/2 amp load.
    No PID controller power means no SSR output which kills the power going to your furnace.
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  2. #22
    Boolit Master mattw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    East Central Illinois
    Posts
    884
    Just my 2 cents worth... My Mypin TA4-SNR pid died after years of use. I had an Inkbird sitting on the shelf, so I rewired for it and was back up and running on my lead pot. But, I do not like the Inkbird at all! If you just allow it to hold the temp, it does very well. But it has trouble regulating the temp with normal casting speed outflow and will always way over shoot on a 20 pound pot if you add warm but not melted alloy. I did finally find the way to set it up for autotune, that did help but not nearly as much as autotune on the Mypin. I will replace it with another Mypin, when I get the chance to do so.

  3. #23
    Boolit Master
    Dragonheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    1,857
    When it comes to what I call inexpensive PID's they are all made in China. I went with the Inkbird several years ago and it is still going. I also have had good results with two other Inkbirds. I didn't go with Mypin because originally reading the reviews they had a really high failure rate. I think to some extent product longevity is the luck of the draw. The problem I have is the documentation for all of the PID's seem to be really lacking, but that goes for all Chinese electronics in general.

    I do agree the learning can make it worth the DIY and you can customize it as you wish, but if you just want one that works, DIY is not going to save a lot of money.

  4. #24
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225
    Problem you run into is the Chinese clones of Chinese products.
    Mypin has clones out there.
    Some of the features such as auto tune doesnít work on the clones
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  5. #25
    Hatch didn't mention: $ for
    Terminal Barrier Strip Block Connector Bar for cleaner wire management
    Fuses to protect the PID.
    grommet or clamp to protect the wire going through the metal box.
    I put feet on mine to hold it off the bench to help keep it cool (don't know if this was needed)
    Optional panel-mount k type thermocouple connector so you can easily swap out thermocouples between oven/hotplate/pots (I'm not sure this is a good idea if the PID unit is autotuned to a certain piece of equipment).

    Hatch could easily get the budget materials but he couldn't stand behind his products as he does.

    In the time it takes most of us to rig one together Hatch can build 10 because he has the tools to do it right.

    For me, cutting nice square holes in metal housings was a pain as was scrounging for materials,
    but - I have more time than money, and have just enough experience to be dangerous and enjoy DIY.

    I digress.

    Do you mean inexpensive as in cheap or inexpensive as in quality for reasonable $?

  6. #26
    Boolit Master

    Mike W1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rural Sumner, IA
    Posts
    1,118
    Really I am not trying to be a pain purposely, I just don't get where you're coming up with the 1/2 Amp versus some other load unless you're wiring up 2 individual inputs.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SSR Wiring.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	59.7 KB 
ID:	237749
    Mike

    Benefactor Member NRA
    Life Member Iowa Firearms Coalition
    US Army Vet

    There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation.
    One is by the sword. The other is by debt.Ē
    John Adams 1826

  7. #27
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225


    The switch goes where the green line is.
    There is no switch before the fuse/circuit breaker.
    The PID only draws less then 1/2 amp
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  8. #28
    Boolit Master

    Mike W1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rural Sumner, IA
    Posts
    1,118
    OK. I see what you're getting at now, possibly saving any wear and tear on a $3 switch.
    Last edited by Mike W1; 03-11-2019 at 05:46 PM.
    Mike

    Benefactor Member NRA
    Life Member Iowa Firearms Coalition
    US Army Vet

    There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation.
    One is by the sword. The other is by debt.Ē
    John Adams 1826

  9. #29
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225

    Anyone on these forums selling inexpensive PIDs?

    I have built a couple hundred PID setups.
    All of them have had a switch at the PID controller itself.

    You can use a little 10 amp rated switch and by only using it to switch the 1/2 amp there is NO way you will ever burn up the contacts and itís safer.

    I could care less about a 90 cent switch failing.
    What I care about is the contacts of that switch overheating and possibly causing a short.
    By using a switch that is rated 20 times the load there is no way your gonna melt it.
    Last edited by HATCH; 03-11-2019 at 07:01 PM.
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  10. #30
    Boolit Master

    Mike W1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rural Sumner, IA
    Posts
    1,118
    Now I see what you had in mind. BTW I don't think that thing in the drawing I used is a circuit breaker now that I look at it a little closer. Looks like a DPST switch. Usually anyhow a 110v breaker does not break the neutral.
    Mike

    Benefactor Member NRA
    Life Member Iowa Firearms Coalition
    US Army Vet

    There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation.
    One is by the sword. The other is by debt.Ē
    John Adams 1826

  11. #31

  12. #32
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike W1 View Post
    Now I see what you had in mind. BTW I don't think that thing in the drawing I used is a circuit breaker now that I look at it a little closer. Looks like a DPST switch. Usually anyhow a 110v breaker does not break the neutral.
    The thing in the drawing outside the box is a dpst switch.
    I donít use a fuse, I use a circuit breaker.
    Fuses mean you have to buy and keep spares.
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  13. #33
    Boolit Master

    Mike W1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rural Sumner, IA
    Posts
    1,118
    Quote Originally Posted by HATCH View Post
    I have built a couple hundred PID setups.
    All of them have had a switch at the PID controller itself.

    You can use a little 10 amp rated switch and by only using it to switch the 1/2 amp there is NO way you will ever burn up the contacts and it’s safer.

    I could care less about a 90 cent switch failing.
    What I care about is the contacts of that switch overheating and possibly causing a short.
    By using a switch that is rated 20 times the load there is no way your gonna melt it.
    Well I don't have a EE, but a friend is, so I asked him about this. Course there's always lots of "ifs" when there's more than one way to do something. However, "if" you turn your switch off and the SSR has happened to fail, they generally failed closed so the power would still be going to the pot. Guess you just unplug the whole thing from the power outlet though.
    Mike

    Benefactor Member NRA
    Life Member Iowa Firearms Coalition
    US Army Vet

    There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation.
    One is by the sword. The other is by debt.Ē
    John Adams 1826

  14. #34
    Boolit Master
    Dragonheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Katy, Texas
    Posts
    1,857
    Quote Originally Posted by HATCH View Post
    I have built a couple hundred PID setups.
    All of them have had a switch at the PID controller itself.

    You can use a little 10 amp rated switch and by only using it to switch the 1/2 amp there is NO way you will ever burn up the contacts and it’s safer.

    I could care less about a 90 cent switch failing.
    What I care about is the contacts of that switch overheating and possibly causing a short.
    By using a switch that is rated 20 times the load there is no way your gonna melt it.
    I have only built two PID boxes and converted a 30" oven to PID and it never occurred to me to NOT put in a switch, but what do I know compared to those posting on You Tube.

  15. #35
    Super Moderator



    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    5,225
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike W1 View Post
    SSR has happened to fail, they generally failed closed so the power would still be going to the pot.

    I worked for a DDC company that did HVAC controls.
    They have installed 10s of thousands of SSRs.
    I can tell you that from my experience unless they are overloaded and burn up, if they fail, they just stop working.
    I say IF they fail because unless they are overloaded or arenít properly heatsinked, they generally donít fail.
    Out of 200+ units I have built , I have only had one problem with a SSR and it was a factory defect.
    The SSR housing detached from the metal base. This caused the SSR itself to overheat and melt the plastic housing. On that unit the SSR did not pass current.
    But anyway, we are getting into design and that is off topic as the OP is looking for a cheap PID.
    Don't like being hammered by the Cast Boolits Staff, then don't be a nail.
    The rules are simple to follow.

  16. #36
    Boolit Mold
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Westminster,CO
    Posts
    20
    I find that using old computer power supply boxes work well for these units. You can gut them out and cut out for your PID controller. I've built two this way and have about $35 into mine.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check