Reloading EverythingWidenersInline FabricationRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyLee PrecisionTitan Reloading
RotoMetals2 Load Data
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is it common to have to resize 45 acp brass several times at once

Is it common to have to resize 45 acp brass several times at once

I am wondering if it is common to have to resize brass with several pulls of the single stage press arm in order have it pass a go - no go head space gauge? I'm new to reloading and always thought it only took one time to size a case.
    Also I have seen many cases pass the head space test once sized, but after a few days sitting out, they fail. Can brass move once it is sized? I had to resize several primed rounds with several pulls of the press arm to get them to pass. Is there a specific brand that this happens to more often? Is it just bad? Or is my Lee sizer die not working like it should?
    I'm using range brass with several different head stamps and case thickness. My die is set up correctly according to the directions. Is this something that just happens?

I have never heard of that one. Sorry.

Invest in a .45 acp Lee Bulge buster push through die, I have .45 autos, revolvers and carbines [which are very hard on brass]. I always run my loads through the lee die and they work in anything. It irons out all the damage and imperfections especially at the head where your sizing die can’t reach. Use a single stage press bolted down tight cause sometimes they don’t want to resize. Not a Lee fan but these work.
    Last edited by Baltimoreed; 02-19-2019 at 10:37 AM.

Boolit Master

Quote Originally Posted by Rustynails View Post
    I am wondering if it is common to have to resize brass with several pulls of the single stage press arm in order have it pass a go - no go head space gauge? I'm new to reloading and always thought it only took one time to size a case.