Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingWidenersReloading Everything
Snyders JerkyLoad DataRepackboxRotoMetals2
MidSouth Shooters Supply Lee Precision
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RCBS Chargemaster Lite vs 1500

Boolit Grand Master

RCBS Chargemaster Lite vs 1500

Hornady Auto powder dispenser went tango uniform yesterday. Buttons aren't working on the lower row. Still seems to weigh ok. I've had a bunch of Hornady product issues the last few years and prefer to look elsewhere. I've been eyeing the RCBS Chargemaster vs the Lyman Gen 6 Vs others. Reports here seem favorable on the RCBS. Hoping to get current and updated opinions.

Boolit Bub
    I have been using the RCBS Chargemaster 1500 for about 8-10 years (time flies, I can't remember). It has been flawless. I got one for my dad a few years ago, and we had some issues. RCBS customer service was fantastic, and they ended up sending him a new unit when we could not get his dialed in.

If mine stopped working, I would replace it with another one.

Boolit Master

been happy with my 1500 for about a dozen years.

I am very happy with my 1500. I really don’t know the difference between the 1500 and the lite.
    Due to the price of primers, warning shots will no longer be given!

Boolit Buddy
    I've had a 1500 in the past and currently own 2 of the lite's.

The lite is just as accurate.
    It is a little bit slower with regular powders.
    It does not overthrow like the 1500 often does. In 1000's of rounds i've used my lites for i have had one overcharge that needed to be returned to the hopper. In contrast the 1500 would do that about 1:10 on average.

Over the course of a loading session you'll usually finish faster with the Lite as the number of errors that need to discarded and done again is almost nil.

The Lite is very slow with coarse "fluffy" powders like Unique or Trail Boss. It's a bit slower with ball powders and only a second or two behind with stick powders.