WidenersSnyders JerkyInline FabricationRepackbox
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Load DataLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters Supply Reloading Everything

Thread: Shortgun loads?

Boolit Master

Shortgun loads?

I am new to the BP game and recently came to own an Optima ML pistol. Looking for suggestions for a good powder and loads before I waste any more money. Tried some Shockey's Gold sticks as that's all they had in the store other than Tripple7 (which I have heard bad things about, crud ring) and couldn't get consistent burns with it. I have a bunch of 250 grain XTP's on hand that I want to use, with sabot.

Cheers, Rod.

Boolit Master
    I have used plenty of Triple 7 in two revolvers and never had an issue with the crud ring people speak of. It may well be that it needs a greater powder charge, but I’ve read some believe it’s from the hotter ignition of 209 primers. Dunno.

Loose powder will always be superior. And if speed of loading or convenience is an issue it’s easy to use speed loaders. Every firearm is different and will have a sweet spot. That can’t be found (usually) when using specific pellet-like powders, which are also more expensive.

BH209 is said to be both energetic and accurate, and with smokeless clean up (not soap and water). But it’s pricey.

I really like using Olde Eynsford powder. It’s energetic and inexpensive, but I have to buy it through the mail and to counter the HazMat fee order several pounds at one time. Even purchasing from a local store reflects these fees. They pay them too, and pass them on to the customer. I used to buy a pound at a time of 3F Triple 7 from BassPro. But during the dark years when things were hard to find, that being one of them, I found that the online price at Grafs was much lower and it only took those 3 pounds to about break even, except that I no longer had to drive 30 mins one way to be let down and waste fuel and time.

Boolit Master