Reloading EverythingRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyLee Precision
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingWidenersInline Fabrication
Load Data

Thread: 577/450 Martini Henry

Boolit Mold

577/450 Martini Henry

Ok so I'm fairly new to loading BP cartridge rounds so i have a question. I have successfully loaded for the .577 snider and recently bought a Enfield mark IV 1885 long lever Martini Henry dated 1887. The whole tapered throat/bore has got me scratching my head and i guess for my own reassurance i want to ask a question that I'm sure has been asked many times now. I've slugged the bore from the muzzle twice and i get a .462/463 reading but from what i have been reading i should be using a .468-470 boolit in these rifles. I figured before i spent a bunch on a mold, sizer etc i would just buy some pre made boolits and make sure everything functions OK. It seems most everything out there is sold out or has to come from the EU but i did find some .470 boolits. Should i run these as is or size them down some? I guess i just feel nervous about pushing a boolit that much larger(especially in a gun over 100 years old!) but i guess it's supposed to swage itself down the barrel correct? I got my 24 gauge brass cut and annealed, should be picking up my dies later today and hopefully my boolits get here tomorrow so I'm hoping to shoot it this weekend if i don't have to adjust the boolit size. Thanks in advance for any help i get here...

Boolit Master
    Sound like a Good plan. Lots Of Luck Trying to Make Good Brass.
    NRA Endowment Member
    International Ammunition Association
    New York, the Empire State Where Empires were Won and Lost

Contact Martyn at xringservices@yahoo.com and he can sort out what you need at reasonable prices. Knows Martini Henry matters intimately and will supply the cases and moulds to match your exact type. In USA so no import issues.

In Remembrance

noob-leader: