Snyders JerkyTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
Load Data Reloading Everything

Thread: Hi-Tek and higher BHN

Boolit Master

Hi-Tek and higher BHN

I am hoping to start a conversation on the use of HI-Tek and ways to get higher BHN in your bullets. I have no experience so i am asking those that have done so. How they did it. And how much of an affect did it have. Besides what alloy did you start with.
    I have some experience with with PC but very little with HT.
    The reason for my asking is to use HT on my rifle bullets at close to the velocities as my jacketed and PC bullets. Kevin

Banned
    Alloy hardness will not affect the application of HiTek. HiTek is a stain so you can't size the boolits before your first coat of HiTek.

For hight BHN boolits you could use straight monotype Brinell 26
    or superhard from rotometals Brinell 36

5% Sb 2% Cu gives very high BHN, shoots good with HiTek, size right after casing and WD in ice water from cooking one hour, last cook. IMHO even PB will go 2700 in 308w. I did some in BO @ 2100.
    Whatever!

Boolit Master