RepackboxReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyWideners
Titan ReloadingRotoMetals2Load DataLee Precision
MidSouth Shooters Supply Inline Fabrication

Thread: Sticky Mould

Boolit Mold

Sticky Mould

I am still quite new to casting but been giving it a good go, but...…

I am casting 148gr Wadcutters in a Lee 6 cavity mould, lead now with 1.5% tin, the cast is not dropping out the mould very well and most of the time they need some help by pushing them out with a screwdriver, yeah not good..... there does not seem to be anything in the mould, all looks clean and have tried re-smoking it, maybe I am not smoking it enough, any other suggestions?

Thanks

Dave

Super Moderator

Sometimes a new mold just needs to be broken in. You didn't mention your alloy temp, but you might want to go around 725* or so.. Get yourself a wooden hammer handle or something similar, and give a light tap on the mold handle hinge bolt head. See if that helps.

Boolit Master

You could try and smoke it
    kids that hunt and fish dont mug old ladies

Boolit Mold
    Quote Originally Posted by ShooterAZ View Post
    Sometimes a new mold just needs to be broken in. You didn't mention your alloy temp, but you might want to go around 725* or so.. Get yourself a wooden hammer handle or something similar, and give a light tap on the mold handle hinge bolt head. See if that helps.
    Temp? Yep, no idea, guess I need to get a thermometer.... Have tried tapping it, does not budge them.

Boolit Master
    sounds like you might have a sharp edge along the parting line of your mold, there are several things you can try the first is to take a new pencil and rub it on and around the cavities with the easer end. Then clean it good with hot water and Dawn then cast again.

This will be trail and error until you smooth the mold.

Gotta know your heat to!

get a magnify glass and look at the mold burrs and rough edges.

HM