Inline FabricationPBcastcoTitan ReloadingRepackbox
WidenersLoad DataLee PrecisionReloading Everything
RotoMetals2 MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do with dross?

Boolit Buddy

What to do with dross?

Casting newbie here. This summer I was gifted several buckets-worth of range lead, mixed with MUCH wood fiber from the backstop. It was a long, hot process getting it melted down in a dutch oven on a turkey fryer and once it was done there I ended up with close to 200 lbs of ingots and a large turkey-fryer pot mostly full of dross. My concern is that there is a LOT of wasted lead in the dross because it is very heavy, but I'm not sure how to salvage it at this point. If these results are normal, fine, but if a lot of lead was wasted while skimming the top what is the solution for recovering it?

Boolit Master

I put it in metal coffee cans and when I get 30-40 lbs. I sell it to the local scrap yard!
    Political correctness is a national suicide pact.

I am a sovereign individual, accountable
    only to God and my own conscience.

Moderator Emeritus

If you fluxed the melt properly, The Dross should be as lightweight as ash...unless there was soil/rocks mixed in your range scrap.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “If someone has a gun and is trying to kill you, it would be reasonable to shoot back with your own gun.”
    ― The Dalai Lama, Seattle Times, May 2001

Boolit Master
    I’ve never melted range scrap, but it seems like there would be quite a lot of copper jackets in the skimming. Along with dirt, rocks etc. copper is quite heavy, especially that much. I don’t think you could get much more lead out of that bucket.

Boolit Buddy

Did you flux before you removed the dross?

I am cheap. I re-melt my dross. Not that I get a huge amount back but it is the principle to me.

I cast for enjoyment, so I understand that my time is a freebie..

Boolit Buddy
    Quote Originally Posted by JonB_in_Glencoe View Post