Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2Inline FabricationLee Precision
WidenersTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad Data
Reloading Everything Repackbox

Thread: RCBS LAM2 or Lyman 4500?

Boolit Buddy

RCBS LAM2 or Lyman 4500?

Longtime shooter, medium-time reloader and total newb just getting into casting....
    Aside from any cost differences, which is the better lubrisizer, the RCBS or the Lyman, and why? I currently own a gently used LAM2 that I received in a trade but may soon end up with a brand new 4500 from another deal as well, and would plan to sell off the lesser model. I'm very much a "green" fan but would use an orange sizer if it's really all that much better of a choice.

Boolit Master
    Try them both to see which you like the best.I only have the Lyman lubrisizers and they work well for me.I have a 45,3 450's, and a 4500.All set up with different lubes.The 4500 should have a hole for installing a heater.I doubt if there's any differences in their usefulness.

Boolit Master
    I have one of each but keep my 450 on the bench full time because I like the ratchet wrench for operating the pressure screw much better than the sliding rod on the LAM2. Now the nut that holds the resizing die on the Lyman 450 and 4500 has a VERY fine thread on it. Be sure it is engaged correctly before you tighten it down. They are easy to cross thread and that is not a good thing.
    Some times it's the pot,
    Some times it's the pan,
    It might even be the skillet,
    But, most of the time, it's the cook.

I have a Lyman 45, two LAM2 and a LAM, prefer the RCBS over Lyman especially with rifle bullets

Boolit Grand Master

When I went into the gun shop in 1972 all they had was a Lyman 450 so I bought it.
    I cast mostly handgun but also for 4 different rifles.
    I've been using it all these years , nothing has been replaced, broken or worn out , so I can't complain.