Load DataRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters Supply
Lee PrecisionInline FabricationWidenersReloading Everything
Repackbox Snyders Jerky
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie caster, the question of FIT.

Boolit Mold

Newbie caster, the question of FIT.

Actually, I haven't really started casting yet, just done a little bit of lead hoarding and some initial smelting/cleaning. But I have been reloading jacketed bullets for a few years, and this seemed like a fun next step. After reading the FAQ's and stickies, and spending far too much time on the lasc.us website, I think I'm starting to understand the basic concepts of fitting the bullet/boolit to the barrel.

Before I go order the mold, I would like to bounce a few questions towards all the knowledgeable people in here, so I don't waste time and money on something that would not work well.

My plan is to start casting plinking/practice GC-bullets for the 404 Jeffery (~.423), somewhere in the 350-375 grain area - hopefully being able to drive them at ~2000 fps, perhaps up to 2200. Design-wise I was thinking some type of bore-rider with a decent meplat, looking somewhat like Accurate molds #42-347J http://www.accuratemolds.com/bullet_...=42-347J-D.png. The looks of the bullet are not super-important though. Plan is to powder coat, rather than pan lubing. Use the softest alloy which works. 2-inch groups att 100 meters, and I would be very happy.

Questions:
    1. Barrel is slugged to .4245, which makes me think it is safe to fire bullets sized to .427, correct? (twist is 1:14 i think)